
STEP 3: If you have any witnesses, like a police 
officer or a neighbor not involved in the case, have 
them testify. 
 
STEP 4: Read your personal statement detailing the 
emotional and mental distress the “Problem House” 
may have caused you, and present evidence of any 
medical attention you may have received. 
 
STEP 5: The Property Owner will have his/her time to 
respond and ask questions. Be polite. Do not interrupt. 
You will have your chance to respond. 
 
STEP 6: When you finish your presentation to the 
judge you should be sure that he/she realizes that you 
have incurred certain court costs (i.e. your filing fee) 
and ask for these costs be added to the judgment. Ask 
your Small Claims Court Advisor what costs you may 
ask for. 
 
STEP 7: The Small Claims Court judge can award 
each plaintiff up to $5,000 but does not have the power 
to order the Property owner to evict a party who is not 
before the court. 
 
C. THE APPEAL 
 
If you win in Small Claims Court, the process may not 
be over. The Property Owner may appeal the case to 
the Superior Court. The appeal hearing is similar to the 
Small Claims Court hearing and the same rules 
generally apply. The major difference is that lawyers 
are allowed to represent the participants. Property 
Owners usually end up with lawyers, so it is a good 
idea to have one of your own. Be sure to request from 
the judge your lawyer’s fees. 
 
D. COLLECTING THE JUDGMENT 
 
Collecting your judgment is not as difficult as many 
people believe. It will, however, require patience. 
 
Two “how to” books already exist that will tell you 
the in’s and out’s on how to collect your judgment. 
They are (1) Collecting Your Small Claims 
Judgment, California Department of Consumer 
Affairs, 1989; and (2) Collect Your Court Judgment, 
Nolo Press, Berkeley, California. 
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SMALL CLAIMS COURT 
 
A Small Claims Court suit can sometimes be the best 
way for a neighborhood to force an irresponsible 
Property Owner to act after all other remedies have 
been exhausted. Before you start any Small Claims 
Court action you may want to read Everyone’s Guide 
to Small Claims Court, California 11th Edition, by 
Ralph Warner. This technical self-help law book gives 
you a detailed account of what to do and how to do it. 
It is easy to read and available from Nolo Press in 
Berkeley, California, many bookstores and the public 
library. In addition, advice is provided through the 
Small Claims Court Advisor, at the Solano County 
Court in Fairfield, California. 
 
STEP 1: Maintain an activity log. The log should 
include any activity that “deprives you of the quiet use 
and enjoyment of your property, or causes you any 
emotional or mental distress.” Your log should include 
the dates and times, plus a description of the activities 
that disturbed you and how you suffered. 
 
STEP 2: Write a letter to the Property Owner letting 
her/him know that if no action is taken within 10 days, 
you and/or the neighborhood group will (collectively) 
sue her/him in Small Claims Court for maintaining a 
public nuisance. Send it certified mail, return receipt 
requested. If the Property Owner still does not act, then 
you may proceed with your Small Claims Court 
lawsuit. 
You may ascertain the name of the legal owners of the 
property by going to the Assessors Office located at 
701 Texas Street in Fairfield, California. 
 
STEP 3: If others are joining you in the suit, everyone 
in your group must individually file a suit, which may 
be collectively heard in court. Children under the age 
of 18 years may sue by using their parents as their legal 
guardian. Visit the Small Claims Court Clerk and let 
her/him know what you are doing and how many 
people are involved, and if any children are suing. Pick 
up the forms needed for filing from the Clerk. Ask 
about the Small Claims Court Advisor. Their services 
are free, use them to help you with the filing 
requirements. 
 
STEP 4: Each person must fill out a Plaintiff’s 
statement form. Make a master copy to make it easier. 
You must sue each person listed as the legal owner of 
the property. Currently, the maximum that you can sue 

for in Small Claims Court is $7,500.  During the 
calendar year, you may not file more than two small 
claims action in which the amount demanded 
exceeds $2,500. 
 
The reason for your suit is: 
“defendants allow activity to occur on their property at    
(fill-in address of “Problem House”) that deprives me 
of the quiet use and enjoyment of my property 
(optional;  and causes me emotional and mental 
distress).” 
 
STEP 5: Return all the Plaintiff’s Statements to the 
Small Claims Court Clerk. Ask the Clerk to schedule 
the same court date and time for all the claims. Bring a 
self-addressed stamped envelope for each claim. You 
should receive the service copies with the court date in 
about a week. It will cost approximately $15.00 - 
$30.00 per person to file a claim in Small Claims 
Court. 
 
STEP 6: When the forms are complete, a copy must be 
served on the property owner. This is called “service of 
process”.  It is important to know the paperwork which 
must be completed for proper service, so talk to your 
Small Claims Court Advisor for details. For a small 
fee, the Small Claims Court will mail your summons to 
the Property Owner by certified mail, but personal 
service is recommended. Someone not involved in your 
suit can serve the Property Owner, or you can hire a 
professional process server. You cannot serve the 
property owner yourself. 
 
A. GETTING READY FOR COURT 
 
STEP 1: Ask the Small Claims Court Advisor for help 
in subpoenaing witnesses you believe will be helpful to 
your case. If you subpoena a police officer as a 
witness, the cost of subpoenaing the officer requires a 
minimum deposit of $150 per day to defray actual costs 
to the Police Department. You may also subpoena 
police reports that may substantiate the activity shown 
on your activity log. However, you cannot simply ask 
for all reports regarding the address because such a 
request is too broad.  
 
You will need to include in the subpoena the date and 
approximate time of the court hearing. The Small 
Claims Court Advisor can help you draft a narrowly 
drawn subpoena that asks for incident reports taken on 
specific dates regarding specific addresses. Other 
records and reports from the Fire Department, Health 

Department and County Code Enforcement Unit may 
also be helpful to show other violations. 
 
STEP 2: Organize your records. Each individual 
should have a separate file to give to the judge. Be sure 
to keep a copy of the file for yourself. Include in this 
file your Activity Log Book, all correspondence to the 
Property Owner and any other reports regarding health 
and safety code violations that are relevant to the case. 
 
STEP 3: If appropriate, prepare a personal statement 
detailing the emotional and mental distress that the 
“Problem House” has caused you. Be prepared to prove 
your individual monetary damages to the court. 
 
STEP 4: Have a meeting of all the people involved in 
the lawsuit and discuss how you are going to present 
your case to the judge. Make a list of questions that 
you would like to ask the Property Owner and any 
witnesses that you have subpoenaed. Always contact 
your witnesses first. A hostile witness in a Small 
Claims Court action may be unproductive. 
 

A. THE COURT HEARING 
 
Lawyers may not represent a client in Small Claims 
Court. So it will simply be you and the Property 
Owner(s) sitting before the judge to state your case. 
The legal theories underlying your case are that the 
property owner is liable, for maintaining a nuisance. To 
support this legal theory you must prove the (1) 
Property Owner owns the “Problem House” and was 
notified of the problem and given reasonable 
opportunity to correct it, and (2) the activities at the 
“Problem House” have continued and have deprived 
you of the quiet use and enjoyment of your premises 
and/or caused you emotional and or mental distress. 
 
STEP 1: It is critical that the judge know what the case 
is about before you start arguing it. So tell the judge the 
problem and then briefly outline your position. It may 
be helpful to present the judge with a written summary 
of your case before the hearing begins. 
 
STEP 2: Now present your case to the judge, 
describing in detail the problem. You may want to 
prepare a map of your neighborhood, photos of the 
“Problem House”, and a display board of any 
newspaper clippings, etc. to support your claim. 
Describe what efforts you have taken to eliminate the 
“Problem House” and tell the judge what contact you 
have had with the Property Owner and the results. 


